• Get the Blackhawks Championship Package
    Get the Blackhawks Championship Package
  • Give the Gift of SI
    Give the Gift of SI
Posted: Monday November 12, 2012 2:36PM ; Updated: Monday November 12, 2012 2:36PM

Hockey Hall of Fame welcomes Class of 2012

Story Highlights

Joe Sakic, Mats, Sundin, Adam Oates and Pavel Bure will be inducted tonight

Sabres play-by-play man Rick Jeannrette and columnist Roy MacGregor also go in

Monday night's formal ceremony concludes a weekend of activities in Toronto

Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font
Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2012
The Class of 2012 (left to right): Mats Sundin, Joe Sakic, Adam Oates and Pavel Bure.
Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

TORONTO (AP) -- The Hockey Hall of Fame is welcoming four new members.

Mats Sundin, Joe Sakic, Pavel Bure and Adam Oates are being inducted in the player category.

GALLERY: Hockey Hall's Class of 2012

The former star NHL forwards were presented with their Hall of Fame member rings at a news conference Monday morning.

A formal induction ceremony will be held in the evening.

DATER:Lockout casts shadow on festivities

Buffalo Sabres play-by-play voice Rick Jeanneret and Globe and Mail columnist Roy MacGregor are also being honored.

Jeanneret will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster and MacGregor will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism.

Copyright 2012 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Hot Topics: Sammy Watkins NFL Draft Rick Adelman NFL Questions Aaron Hernandez Donald Trump
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint