Posted: Tuesday January 17, 2012 12:55PM ; Updated: Tuesday January 17, 2012 12:55PM
Andy Glockner

Baylor grabs No. 1 seed as Arizona, others fall out of NCAA bracket

Story Highlights

Syracuse, Baylor, Duke, Kentucky grab No. 1 seeds in this week's bracket

After a 33-point loss to FSU, North Carolina was downgraded to a No. 3 seed

Big Ten, Big East lead this week's Bracket Watch with 9 and 7 bids respectively

2012 NCAA Tournament Projection
EAST - Boston
1 Syracuse* (Big East)
16 Texas-Arlington* (Southland)/Albany* (Am. East)
8 Temple
9 Wisconsin
5 Vanderbilt
12 Iowa State
13 Long Beach State* (Big West)
6 Murray State* (Ohio Valley)
11 BYU/Marshall
3 Indiana
14 Belmont* (Atlantic Sun)
7 Marquette
10 California* (Pac-12)
2 Kansas* (Big 12)
15 Weber State* (Big Sky)
SOUTH - Atlanta
1 Kentucky* (SEC)
16 UW Milwaukee* (Horizon)
8 New Mexico
9 Southern Miss
5 Kansas State
12 Colorado State* (Mountain West)
4 Illinois
13 Akron* (MAC)
6 Saint Mary's* (West Coast)
11 Northwestern
3 North Carolina
14 Middle Tennessee State* (Sun Belt)
7 Virginia
10 Harvard* (Ivy)
2 Georgetown
15 Norfolk State* (MEAC)
WEST - Phoenix
1 Duke* (ACC)
16 UNC Asheville* (Big South)
8 Xavier
9 Mississippi State
5 Michigan
12 Stanford
4 West Virginia
13 Davidson* (SoCon)
6 San Diego State
11 Minnesota/Saint Louis
3 Missouri
14 Oral Roberts* (Summit)
7 Alabama
10 Wichita State
2 Michigan State* (Big Ten)
15 George Mason* (Colonial)
MIDWEST - St. Louis
1 Baylor
16 Texas Southern* (SWAC)/LIU* (Northeast)
8 Florida
9 Louisville
5 Seton Hall
12 Florida State
4 Creighton* (Missouri Valley)
13 Iona* (MAAC)
6 Gonzaga
11 Purdue
3 Connecticut
14 New Mexico State* (WAC)
7 Dayton* (Atlantic 10)
10 Memphis* (Conference USA)
2 Ohio State
15 Bucknell* (Patriot)

* Designated auto-bid winners from each conference, based on best RPI for conference leader (fewest league losses)

Last four in: Saint Louis, BYU, Minnesota, Marshall.

Last four out: Arizona and then take your pick from a group of flawed candidates.

Bids by conference: Big Ten (9); Big East (7); Big 12 and SEC (5); ACC, Mountain West and Atlantic 10 (4); Conference USA and West Coast (3); Pac-12 and Missouri Valley (2)

Note: The at-large play-in games were moved to 11-seeds to accommodate travel from Dayton as well as other bracketing restrictions. New Mexico and Wisconsin swapped seeds to help avoid bracket conflicts.

For more in-depth analysis, check out the Bubble Watch.

Got a bone to pick with the Bracket Watch? Send feedback to
Hot Topics: Sammy Watkins NFL Draft Rick Adelman NFL Questions Aaron Hernandez Donald Trump
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint