Posted: Thursday January 23, 2014 1:28 AM

NFL's top official: Welker's hit on Talib legal

Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. (AP) - The NFL's officiating chief has cleared Broncos receiver Wes Welker of any wrongdoing for his hit that knocked Patriots cornerback Aqib Talib out of Sunday's AFC Championship.

''It was a legal hit,'' Vice President of Officiating Dean Blandino said on the NFL Network Wednesday night.

On Monday, New England coach Bill Belichick blasted Welker for the hit, calling it ''one of the worst plays'' he'd seen in nearly four decades of coaching.

There will be no discipline for Welker; Blandino said there was simply no infraction of the rules.

Talib left the game with a knee injury and didn't return in Denver's 26-16 win that sent the top-seeded Broncos to the Super Bowl.

 
SI.com
Hot Topics: NBA Playoffs NHL Playoffs Chris Johnson Jameis Winston NFL Draft Michael Sam Aldon Smith
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint