2003 MLB All Star Game

Deep thoughts

Home Run Derby has evolved into marquee event

Posted: Monday July 14, 2003 1:46 AM
Updated: Monday July 14, 2003 10:30 PM
  Ken Griffey Jr. No slugger has repeated as Home Run Derby champ since Griffey in 1999. Brian Bahr/Allsport

By Lonny Krasnow,

One more day and the stars come out.

First, though, the final prelude to the All-Star Game takes place Monday night, when baseball's biggest sluggers participate in the Home Run Derby.

Based on a made-for-television concept from the late 1950s, the Home Run Derby was revived in 1985 by commissioner Peter Uberroth as a preliminary event for the All-Star Game in Minneapolis.

The old black-and-white TV show featured contestants such as Hank Aaron, Mickey Mantle and Willie Mays hitting batting-practice home runs at a minor league ballpark in Los Angeles. The revival has gone through a series of transformations before settling into the current format, which now plays before sellout crowds on the day before the All-Star Game.

From 1985 to 1990, the Home Run Derby was strictly a team competition -- American League vs. National League. It was structured as a two-inning event with each player getting five outs per inning.

In the 1985 derby, Tom Brunansky, Carlton Fisk, Eddie Murray, Jim Rice and Cal Ripken Jr. represented the American League. The National League featured Jack Clark, Steve Garvey, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker and Ryne Sandberg. Dave Parker led all hitters with six home runs, but the AL prevailed 17-16.

The following year, the NL edged the AL 8-7, with rookie Wally Joyner and Darryl Strawberry hitting four home runs apiece.

Andre Dawson's four homers carried the NL to a 6-2 victory in 1987.

Derby Champions
Since 1991, when each player was granted 10 "outs" to hit as many home runs as possible:
  2002   Jason Giambi
Miller Park
2001 Luis Gonzalez
Safeco Field
2000 Sammy Sosa
Turner Field
1999 Ken Griffey Jr.
Fenway Park
1998 Ken Griffey Jr.
Coors Field
1997 Tino Martinez
Jacobs Field
1996 Barry Bonds
Veterans Stadium
1995 Frank Thomas
Ballpark in Arlington
1994 Ken Griffey Jr.
Three Rivers Stadium
1993 Juan Gonzalez
Camden Yards
1992 Mark McGwire
Jack Murphy Stadium
1991 Cal Ripken

The event was canceled due to rain in 1988.

The NL won again 9-5 in 1989, with Eric Davis and Ruben Sierra going deep three times each.

At Wrigley Field in 1990, hometown hero Sandberg belted three home runs, leading the NL to another victory, 4-1.

In 1991, each player was granted 10 outs -- swings that did not result in home runs -- to hit as many home runs as possible. Ripken took advantage and produced 12 home runs on 22 swings. Cecil Fielder was second-best with four, including two bombs that reached the SkyDome restaurant located in center field.

Mark McGwire dominated the competition in 1992 with 12 round-trippers, including eight on consecutive pitches. The longest home run came off the bat of Fred McGriff, who hit a 458-foot blast that landed two rows short of the scoreboard in Jack Murphy Stadium.

In 1993, Ken Griffey Jr. became the first player to hit the Camden Yards warehouse on the fly. Juan Gonzalez also reached uncharted territory -- the facade of the upper deck in left field (473 feet) and the green wall behind the center-field fence (455 feet). Gonzalez needed two extra innings to capture the crown.

Frank Thomas highlighted the slugfest in 1994 with a 519-foot moon shot into the upper deck in left field -- the longest ever measured at Three Rivers Stadium. But it was Griffey who claimed his first derby title when all was said and done.

The derby format was revised again in 1995 to showcase baseball's biggest sluggers. The home run leaders at the All-Star break were invited, and the players with the four highest homer totals after the first round advanced to a second round of five "outs." The two leaders -- Frank Thomas and Albert Belle -- met in the final and the Big Hurt won the title 3-2.

The 1996 derby at Veterans Stadium turned into the battle of the Bay, with San Francisco's Barry Bonds and Oakland's McGwire providing the fireworks. Bonds smashed three home runs in his final three swings to edge Big Mac by one in the last round.

In 1997, Larry Walker belted 18 homers in the opening rounds, including a 479-foot shot into the right-field mezzanine level of Jacobs Field. However, Tino Martinez bested Walker 3-1 in the final.

Heavy Hitters
Most home runs in one Derby
2000 Sammy Sosa *   26  
2002 Jason Giambi * 25
2001 Jason Giambi 20
1997 Larry Walker 19
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. * 19
1998 Jim Thome 19
2002 Sammy Sosa 18
1996 Barry Bonds * 17
* won Home Run Derby

At Coors Field in 1998, McGwire managed just four home runs and failed to get past the first round. Griffey, who planned on skipping the competition until he was booed mercilessly during workouts, won the event by beating Jim Thome 3-2 in the final.

McGwire put on an awesome display at Fenway Park in 1999, launching 13 homers over the Green Monster. The eight longest shots belonged to Big Mac, all 450 feet or longer. But in the end, lefty pull hitters ruled -- Griffey beat Jeromy Burnitz 3-2 in the five-out final.

In 2000, Sammy Sosa ended Griffey's two-year reign as derby champion at Turner Field. Sosa beat Griffey 9-2 in the finals and hit 26 overall, including two 508-foot shots.

At Safeco Field in 2001, Luis Gonzalez upset Barry Bonds in the semis before outslugging defending champ Sammy Sosa 6-2.

Last year, Jason Giambi overcame Sosa's dazzling display in the first round to beat him 7-1 in the final. Sosa smacked seven 500-foot homers in the first two rounds, but could only only one homer in the final.

Bonds and Sosa will not participate in the 2003 derby, but Giambi will be back to defend his title Monday night. Toronto's Carlos Delgado, Anaheim's Garret Anderson and Seattle's Bret Boone round out the AL representatives.

The NL squad consists of two Cardinals, Albert Pujols and Jim Edmonds, and Braves slugger Gary Sheffield. The other spot is still open, pending final arrangements.

After 18 years of derby madness, it's hard to imagine an All-Star Game without a home run hitting contest.

Related information
2002: Giambi beats Sosa
2001: Gonzo upsets Bonds
2000: Sosa dethrones Griffey
1999: Griffey repeats as champ
30 home runs before the All-Star break
Giambi set to defend Home Run Derby title
Visit Video Plus for the latest audio and video