Final Fours With Just One No. 1 Seed

Facebook Share
Text: Abe Schwadron, Photo: Rich Clarkson/NCAA Photos/SI


#1 Indiana State, #2 Michigan State,
#2 DePaul, #9 Pennsylvania

This year marks the 14th time the Final Four will feature exactly one No. 1 seed (Florida). Here's a look at how the previous lone No. 1s fared, including seven who won the national championship.

Led by National Player of the Year and future Celtic Hall of Famer Larry Bird, Indiana State entered the 1979 Final Four with an undefeated record. But after edging out DePaul in the tournament semifinals (far left), the Sycamores fell to Michigan State and Earvin "Magic" Johnson in front of an estimated TV audience of 20 million.

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: NBA Playoffs NHL Playoffs Chris Johnson Jameis Winston NFL Draft Michael Sam Aldon Smith
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved. Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint