Sportsman of the Year


coversmall.jpg (2044bytes) Dean Smith:
The 1997 Sports Illustrated
Sportsman of the Year

audio_icon.gif (947bytes)AUDIO
Michael Jordan on Smith's retirement (170k)

Jordan says Smith was more than a coach (226k)

Jordan on how Smith shaped his game (160k)

Bill Guthridge on filling a legend's shoes (184k)

Smith on his future plans (165k)

Father Figure
He became the winningest college basketball coach of all time and capped an exemplary career with a graceful retirement, and for all of that we honor North Carolina's Dean Smith

Dean Smith Unplugged
Smith sat down with SI senior writer Alexander Wolff to share his reflections on nearly half a century in college sports. He reminisced about a certain Chicago Bull, mused about the current overemphasis on winning and sounded off on what's wrong with college sports—and how to fix it.

Exclusive Photo Gallery: The Star Heels
Check out vintage action shots of six of Smith's greatest Carolina players, including you-know-who

By the Numbers
It might be impossible to quantify greatness, but we gave it a try

Seven Innovations
His records, his progeny—players and coaches—and the building named after him aren't Smith's only legacies. Here are seven changes he brought to the game.

Year by Year: How the Heels Finished
The road to the record: From 8-9 in 1961-62 to 28-7 in 1996-97, Smith outlasted seven presidents and the Soviet Union

Previous Sportsmen of the Year:
Click on a name to view a capsule profile, with photo and update
1954 Roger Bannister
1955 Johnny Podres
1956 Bobby Morrow
1957 Stan Musial
1958 Rafer Johnson
1959 Ingemar Johansson
1960 Arnold Palmer
1961 Jerry Lucas
1962 Terry Baker
1963 Pete Rozelle
1964 Ken Venturi
1965 Sandy Koufax
1966 Jim Ryun
1967 Carl Yastrzemski
1968 Bill Russell
1969 Tom Seaver
1970 Bobby Orr
1971 Lee Trevino
1972 Billie Jean King and John Wooden
1973 Jackie Stewart
1974 Muhammad Ali
1975 Pete Rose
1976 Chris Evert
1977 Steve Cauthen
1978 Jack Nicklaus
1979 Terry Bradshaw and Willie Stargell
1980 U.S. Olympic Hockey Team
1981 Sugar Ray Leonard
1982 Wayne Gretzky
1983 Mary Decker
1984 Edwin Moses and Mary Lou Retton
1985 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
1986 Joe Paterno
1987 Athletes Who Care
1988 Orel Hershiser
1989 Greg LeMond
1990 Joe Montana
1991 Michael Jordan
1992 Arthur Ashe
1993 Don Shula
1994 Bonnie Blair and Johann Koss
1995 Cal Ripken Jr.
1996 Tiger Woods


/baseball /more /boxing /racing /soccer /tennis /golf /hockey /basketball/nba /basketball/college /football/ /football/college