Shop Fantasy Central Golf Guide Email Travel Subscribe SI About Us
Sportsman of the Year 2000 Wayne Gretzky Bonnie Blair Tiger Woods Roger Bannister Jack Nicklaus Michael Jordan Chris Evert Sandy Koufax Muhammad Ali Joe Montana Sportsman of the Year CNNSI

Rick Reilly
Leigh Montville
Jack McCallum
Jaime Diaz
Alan Shipnuck
Gary Van Sickle
John Garrity
Tiger Scrapbook
Tiger Photo Gallery
Tiger: Sportsman 1996
Sportsman 2000 Tevevision Special

Complete year by year archive

Sportswoman of the Year

Sharon McCormack-Holographic Photo

"It is a virtual certainty that since the award originated in 1954, no athlete has been as popular on a worldwide scale as Jordan is now and, for that matter, has been for the last several years. He has surpassed every standard by which we gauge the fame of an athlete and, with few exceptions, has handled the adulation with preternatural grace and ease that have cut across lines of race, age and gender."

Text by Jack McCallum
Issue Date: December 23, 1991

In 1991 Michael Jordan led the Chicago Bulls to their first NBA championship. Jordan averaged 31.5 points per game to lead the league in scoring for a fifth consecutive season and also took home his second straight MVP award.

Michael Jordan Sports Illustrated Covers Gallery

CNNSI Copyright © 2001
CNN/Sports Illustrated
An AOL Time Warner Company.
All Rights Reserved.

Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.