CNNSI.com 2001 Heisman College Football 2001 Heisman College Football


Nebraska's Eric Crouch won the 2001 Heisman Trophy. AP

Crouch claims Heisman

In one of the closest votes in history, Nebraska's Eric Crouch won the 67th Heisman Trophy on Saturday. Crouch, who rushed for 61 career touchdowns, edged out Florida's Rex Grossman for the award. Crouch led Nebraska to an 11-1 record and a potential Rose Bowl berth.

Closer Look: Bizarre vote
Video Box: Respect for Crouch
SI's Layden: Why I voted for Crouch
2001 Heisman Trophy voting results


Looking Back
Weinke oldest to win the award
Closer Look: Tomlinson openly dejected


Facts And Figures
Heisman Trophy Winners

SI Flashbacks
'75: Archie Griffin
'93: Charlie Ward

Bo Jackson, Auburn, 1985
Jim Plunkett, Stanford, 1970
John Cappeletti, Penn State, 1973
Dick Kazmaier, Princeton, 1951
Charlie Ward, Florida State, 1993
Doc Blanchard & Glenn Davis, Army, 1945-46
Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh, 1976
Jay Berwanger, Chicago, 1935

Who should win the 2001 Heisman Trophy?

View Results


Message Boards
Whose name should be called at the Downtown Athletic Club?


2000 Heisman Trophy Coverage
1999 Heisman Trophy Coverage