Fantasy More Football Leagues Pro Football Pro Football

  Posted: Wednesday May 15, 2002 12:32 PM

Major professional franchises on the move since 1970
Team  Year  Moved To 
Seattle Pilots  1970  Milwaukee, Wis. (Brewers) 
Washington Senators  1972  Arlington, Texas (Rangers) 
Minnesota Twins (Bloomington)  1982  Minneapolis 
Team  Year  Moved To 
Dallas Cowboys  1971  Irving, Texas  
New England Patriots (Boston)  1971  Foxboro, Mass. 
Buffalo Bills  1973  Orchard Park, N.Y. 
N.Y. Giants (New Haven, Conn.)  1976  E. Rutherford, N.J. 
Los Angeles Rams  1980  Anaheim, Calif.  
Minnesota Vikings (Bloomington)  1982  Minneapolis 
Oakland Raiders  1982  Los Angeles 
N.Y. Jets  1983  E. Rutherford, N.J.  
Baltimore Colts  1984  Indianapolis 
St. Louis Cardinals  1988  Phoenix * 
Los Angeles Raiders  1995  Oakland 
Los Angeles Rams  1995  St. Louis 
Cleveland Browns  1996  Baltimore (Ravens) 
Houston Oilers  1997  Tennessee (Titans) ** 
Washington Redskins  1997  Raljon, Md. 
Note: Giants played at the Polo Grounds (1925-55), Yankee Stadium (1956-73 (two games in '73)), The Yale Bowl (1973-74) and Shea Stadium (1975) before moving into Giants Stadium Oct. 10, 1976).
* -- Became Phoenix Cardinals; changed name to Arizona Cardinals in 1994
** -- Moved to Memphis in 1997 (Tennessee Oilers), then to Nashville in 1998
Team  Year  Moved To 
N.Y. Nets (W. Hempstead, N.Y.)  1971  Uniondale, N.Y. 
San Diego Rockets  1971  Houston 
San Francisco Warriors  1971  Oakland (Golden State) 
Cincinnati Royals  1972  Kansas City/Omaha (Kings) * 
Baltimore Bullets  1973  Landover, Md. (Washington) ** 
Dallas Chaparrals  1973  San Antonio (Spurs) 
Cleveland Cavaliers  1974  Richfield, Ohio  
N.Y. Nets (Uniondale, N.Y.)  1977  Piscataway, N.J. # 
Buffalo Braves  1978  San Diego (Clippers) 
New Orleans Jazz  1979  Salt lake City, Utah 
N.J. Nets (Piscataway, N.J.)  1981  E. Rutherford, N.J. 
San Diego Clippers  1984  Los Angeles 
Kansas City Kings  1985  Sacramento 
Cleveland Cavaliers (Richfield, Ohio)  1994  Cleveland 
L.A. Lakers (Inglewood, Calif.)  1999  Los Angeles 
Vancouver Grizzlies  2001  Memphis 
Charlotte Hornets  2002  New Orleans 
* -- Became Kansas City Kings in 1975
** -- Became Capital Bullets, then changed to Washington Bullets in 1974; changed nickname to Wizards in 1997
# -- Became New Jersey Nets upon move to Piscataway
Team  Year  Moved To 
Kansas City Scouts  1976  Colorado (Rockies) 
California Golden Seals  1976  Cleveland (Barons) 
Atlanta Flames  1980  Calgary  
Cleveland Barons  1980  Minnesota North Stars * 
Hartford Whalers (Springfield, Mass.)  1980  Hartford, Conn. 
Colorado Rockies  1982  New Jersey (Devils) 
Minnesota North Stars  1993  Dallas (Stars) 
San Jose Sharks  1993  San Jose ** 
Tampa Bay Lightning  1993  St. Petersburg, Fla.  
Quebec Nordiques  1995  Colorado (Avalanche) 
Ottawa Senators  1996  Kanata, Ont.  
Winnipeg Jets  1996  Phoenix (Coyotes) 
Hartford Whalers  1997  Greensboro, N.C. (Hurricanes) 
Wash. Capitals (Landover, Md.)  1997  Washington, D.C. 
Florida Panthers (Miami)  1998  Sunrise, Fla. 
Car. Hurricanes (Greensboro, N.C.)  1999  Raleigh, N.C. 
L.A. Kings (Inglewood, Calif.)  1999  Los Angeles 
Note: NHL expanded in 1979 to include WHA's Edmonton Oilers, New England Whalers, Quebec Nordiques and Winnipeg Jets.
* -- Merged
** -- Expansion team in 1991-92, played games in San Francisco 1991-93