Shop Fantasy Central Golf Guide Email Travel Subscribe SI About Us Home
Draft Center Home
Other NFL News
Other College News
Rnd: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

 Sportsman of the Year
 Heisman Trophy
 Swimsuit 2001

 Fantasy Central
 Inside Game
 Multimedia Central
 Your Turn
 Message Boards
 Email Newsletters
 Golf Guide
 Work in Sports GROUP
 Sports Illustrated
 Life of Reilly
 SI Women
 SI for Kids
 Press Room
 TBS/TNT Sports
 CNN Languages

 SI Customer Service
 SI Media Kits
 Get into College
 Sports Memorabilia

Click here for more on this story

Posted: Sunday April 09, 2000 11:22 PM

NFL All-Time No. 1 Draft Picks
Year  Player  Selected by  Pos.  School 
1999  Tim Couch  Cleveland  QB  Kentucky 
1998  Peyton Manning  Indianapolis  QB  Tennessee 
1997  Orlando Pace  St Louis Rams  Ohio State 
1996  Keyshawn Johnson  New York Jets  WR  Southern California 
1995  Ki-Jana Carter  Cincinnati  RB  Penn State 
1994  Dan Wilkinson  Cincinnati  DE  Ohio State 
1993  Drew Bledsoe  New England  QB  Washington State 
1992  Steve Emtman  Indianapolis  DE  Washington 
1991  Russell Maryland  Dallas  DL  Miami 
1990  Jeff George  Indianapolis  QB  Illinois 
1989  Troy Aikman  Dallas  QB  UCLA 
1988  Aundray Bruce  Atlanta  LB  Auburn 
1987  Vinny Testaverde  Tampa Bay  QB  Miami 
1986  Bo Jackson  Tampa Bay  RB  Auburn 
1985  Bruce Smith  Buffalo  DT  Virginia Tech 
1984  Irving Fryar  New England  WR  Nebraska 
1983  John Elway  Baltimore  QB  Stanford 
1982  Kenneth Sims  New England  DT  Texas 
1981  George Rogers  New Orleans  RB  South Carolina 
1980  Billy Sims  Detroit  RB  Oklahoma 
1979  Tom Cousineau  Buffalo  LB  Ohio State 
1978  Earl Campbell  Houston  RB  Texas 
1977  Ricky Bell  Tampa Bay  RB  Southern Cal 
1976  Lee Roy Selmon  Tampa Bay  DE  Oklahoma 
1975  Steve Bartkowski  Atlanta  QB  California 
1974  Ed Jones  Dallas  DE  Tennessee State 
1973  John Matuszak  Houston  DE  Tampa 
1972  Walt Patulski  Buffalo  DE  Notre Dame 
1971  Jim Plunkett  New England  QB  Stanford 
1970  Terry Bradshaw  Pittsburgh  QB  Louisiana Tech 
1969  O.J. Simpson  Buffalo (AFL)  RB  Southern Cal 
1968  Ron Yary  Minnesota  Southern Cal 
1967  Bubba Smith  Baltimore  DT  Michigan State 
1966  Jim Grabowski  Miami (AFL)  RB  Illinois 
1966  Tommy Nobis  Atlanta  LB  Texas 
1965  Tucker Frederickson  NY Giants  RB  Auburn 
1965  Lawrence Elkins  Houston (AFL)  WR  Baylor 
1964  Dave Parks  San Francisco  WR  Texas Tech 
1964  Jack Concannon  Boston (AFL)  QB  Boston College 
1963  Terry Baker  Los Angeles  QB  Oregon State 
1963  Buck Buchanan  Kansas City (AFL)  DT  Grambling 
1962  Ernie Davis  Washington  RB  Syracuse 
1962  Roman Gabriel  Oakland (AFL)  QB  N Carolina St 
1961  Tommy Mason  Minnesota  RB  Tulane 
1961  Ken Rice  Buffalo (AFL)  Auburn 
1960  Billy Cannon  Los Angeles  RB  LSU 
1959  Randy Duncan  Green Bay  QB  Iowa 
1958  King Hill  Chicago Cardinals  QB  Rice 
1957  Paul Hornung  Green Bay  HB  Notre Dame 
1956  Gary Glick  Pittsburgh  DB  Colorado A&M 
1955  George Shaw  Baltimore  QB  Oregon 
1954  Bobby Garrett  Cleveland  QB  Stanford 
1953  Harry Babcock  San Francisco  WR  Georgia 
1952  Bill Wade  Los Angeles  QB  Vanderbilt 
1951  Kyle Rote  New York Giants  HB  SMU 
1950  Leon Hart  Detroit  WR  Notre Dame 
1949  Chuck Bednarik  Philadelphia  Pennsylvania 
1948  Harry Gilmer  Washington  QB  Alabama 
1947  Bob Fenimore  Chicago Bears  HB  Oklahoma A&M 
1946  Frank Dancewicz  Boston  QB  Notre Dame 
1945  Charley Trippi  Chicago Cardinals  HB  Georgia 
1944  Angelo Bertelli  Boston  QB  Notre Dame 
1943  Frank Sinkwich  Detroit  HB  Georgia 
1942  Bill Dudley  Pittsburgh  HB  Virginia 
1941  Tom Harmon  Chicago Bears  HB  Michigan 
1940  George Cafego  Chicago Cardinals  HB  Tennessee 
1939  Ki Aldrich  Chicago Cardinals  TCU 
1938  Corbett Davis  Cleveland  FB  Indiana 
1937  Sam Francis  Philadelphia  FB  Nebraska 
1936  Jay Berwanger  Philadelphia  HB  Chicago 

Related information
Visit Multimedia Central for the latest audio and video
Search our site Watch CNN/SI 24 hours a day

Sports Illustrated and CNN have combined to form a 24 hour sports news and information channel. To receive CNN/SI at your home call your cable operator or DirecTV.

CNNSI Copyright © 2000
CNN/Sports Illustrated
An AOL Time Warner Company.
All Rights Reserved.

Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.