Shop Fantasy Central Golf Guide Email Travel Subscribe SI About Us NHL Playoffs
  Playoffs Home's Hockey Page
Daily Schedule
Prev. Rounds
Team Histories

 Sportsman of the Year
 Heisman Trophy
 Swimsuit 2001

 Fantasy Central
 Inside Game
 Multimedia Central
 Your Turn
 Message Boards
 Email Newsletters
 Golf Guide
 Work in Sports GROUP
 Sports Illustrated
 Life of Reilly
 SI Women
 SI for Kids
 Press Room
 TBS/TNT Sports
 CNN Languages

 SI Customer Service
 SI Media Kits
 Get into College
 Sports Memorabilia

Game 2 Postgame Notes

Click here for more on this story

Posted: Thursday June 01, 2000 11:13 PM

Courtesy of the NHL

Winning Game 2

Teams winning Game 2 of the Stanley Cup finals have gone on to win the championship in 25 of the past 28 seasons. The last Stanley Cup winner that did not win Game 2 was Calgary in 1989, versus Montreal. Since the best-of-seven format began in 1939, 47 of 61 clubs winning Game 2 have gone on to win the Stanley Cup (.770).

Splitting hairs

Since the NHL implemented the best-of-seven format for the Stanley Cup finals in 1939, 19 clubs playing the first two games of the series on the road have gained a split. Of the 19, seven (36.8%) have gone on to win the Stanley Cup.

The last five road clubs to gain a split -- Buffalo in 1999, Vancouver in 1994, Los Angeles in 1993, Minnesota in 1991 and Montreal in 1989 -- were unsuccessful in their Cup bid. The last club to win the Stanley Cup after splitting the first two games on the road was the 1986 Montreal Canadiens, versus Calgary.

The kids are alright

Eight of the top rated prospects for the 2000 Entry Draft, in New Jersey for a media reception, were at Game 2. In the house were six top-ranked players on NHL Central Scouting's list of players from North American leagues: University of Wisconsin LW Dany Heatley, Brampton (OHL) D Rostislav Klesla, Prince Albert (WHL) RW Scott Hartnell, Boston College D Brooks Orpik, Erie (OHL) C Brad Boyes, Brampton LW Raffi Torres and the top two-ranked goaltenders in North America, Boston University's Rick DiPietro and Calgary (WHL)'s Brent Krahn. The 2000 Entry Draft will be held Saturday, June 24 (rounds 1-3) and Sunday, June 25 (rounds 4-9) in Calgary.

Related information
Reactions: Just one game ...
Carbonneau closes in on playoff mark
Day at a Glance
Chat Reel: Si's Pierre McGuire's Morning Skate
Game 2: Hull, yeah!
Visit Multimedia Central for the latest audio and video
Search our site Watch CNN/SI 24 hours a day

Sports Illustrated and CNN have combined to form a 24 hour sports news and information channel. To receive CNN/SI at your home call your cable operator or DirecTV.

CNNSI Copyright © 2001
CNN/Sports Illustrated
An AOL Time Warner Company.
All Rights Reserved.

Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.