Shop Fantasy Central Golf Guide Email Travel Subscribe SI About Us Hockey Almanac Fantasy Minors College Juniors


 Sportsman of the Year
 Heisman Trophy
 Swimsuit 2001

 Fantasy Central
 Inside Game
 Video Plus
 Your Turn
 Message Boards
 Email Newsletters
 Golf Guide
 Cities GROUP
 Sports Illustrated
 Life of Reilly
 SI Women
 SI for Kids
 Press Room
 TBS/TNT Sports
 CNN Languages

 SI Customer Service
 SI Media Kits
 Get into College
 Sports Memorabilia

Updated: Thursday June 14, 2001 11:34 PM

Calder Memorial Trophy
Awarded annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League. Frank Calder was a former NHL president. Sergei Makarov, who won the award in 1989-1990, was the oldest recipient of the trophy, at 31. Players are no longer eligible for the award if they are 26 or older as of Sept. 15 of the season in question.
Year  Winner  Runner-Up 
2001  Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose  Havlat, Ott./Richards, T.B. 
2000  Scott Gomez, New Jersey  Brad Stuart, San Jose 
1999  Chris Drury, Colorado  Marian Hossa, Ottawa 
1998  Sergei Samsonov, Boston  Mattias Ohlund, Vancouver 
1997  Bryan Berard, NY Islanders  Jarome Iginla, Calgary 
1996  Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa  Eric Daze, Chicago 
1995  Peter Forsberg, Quebec  Jim Carey, Washington 
1994  Martin Brodeur, New Jersey  Jason Arnott, Edmonton 
1993  Temmu Selanne, Winnipeg  Joe Juneau, Boston 
1992  Pavel Bure, Vancouver  Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit 
1991  Ed Belfour, Chicago  Sergei Fedorov, Detroit 
1990  Sergei Makarov, Calgary  Mike Modano, Minnesota 
1989  Brian Leetch, NY Rangers  Trevor Linden, Vancouver 
1988  Joe Nieuwendyk, Calgary  Ray Sheppard, Buffalo 
1987  Luc Robitaille, Los Angeles  Ron Hextall, Philadelphia 
1986  Gary Suter, Calgary  Wendel Clark, Toronto 
1985  Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh  Chris Chelios, Montreal 
1984  Tom Barrasso, Buffalo  Steve Yzerman, Detroit 
1983  Steve Larmer, Chicago  Phil Housley, Buffalo 
1982  Dale Hawerchuk, Winnipeg  Barry Pederson, Boston 
1981  Peter Stastny, Quebec  Larry Murphy, Los Angeles 
1980  Ray Bourque, Boston  Mike Foligno, Detroit 
1979  Bobby Smith, Minnesota  Ryan Walter, Washington 
1978  Mike Bossy, NY Islanders  Barry Beck, Colorado 
1977  Willi Plett, Atlanta  Don Murdoch, NY Rangers 
1976  Bryan Trottier, NY Islanders  Glenn Resch, NY Islanders 
1975  Eric Vail, Atlanta  Pierre Larouche, Pittsburgh 
1974  Denis Potvin, NY Islanders  Tom Lysiak, Atlanta 
1973  Steve Vickers, NY Rangers  Bill Barber, Philadelphia 
1972  Ken Dryden, Montreal  Rick Martin, Buffalo 
1971  Gilbert Perreault, Buffalo  Jude Drouin, Minnesota 
1970  Tony Esposito, Chicago  Bill Fairbairn, New York 
1969  Danny Grant, Minnesota  Norm Ferguson, Oakland 
1968  Derek Sanderson, Boston  Jacques Lemaire, Montreal 
1967  Bobby Orr, Boston  Ed Van Impe, Chicago 
1966  Brit Selby, Toronto  Bert Marshall, Detroit 
1965  Roger Crozier, Detroit  Ron Ellis, Toronto 
1964  Jacques Laperriere, Montreal  John Ferguson, Montreal 
1963  Kent Douglas, Toronto  Doug Barkley, Detroit 
1962  Bobby Rousseau, Montreal  Cliff Pennington, Boston 
1961  Dave Keon, Toronto  Bob Nevin, Toronto 
1960  Bill Hay, Chicago  Murray Oliver, Detroit 
1959  Ralph Backstrom, Montreal  Carl Brewer, Toronto 
1958  Frank Mahovlich, Toronto  Bobby Hull, Chicago 
1957  Larry Regan, Boston  Ed Chadwick, Toronto 
1956  Glenn Hall, Detroit  Andy Hebenton, New York 
1955  Ed Litzenberger, Chicago  Don McKenney, Boston 
1954  Camille Henry, New York  Earl Reibel, Detroit 
1953  Lorne Worsley, New York  Gordie Hannigan, Toronto 
1952  Bernie Geoffrion, Montreal  Hy Buller, New York 
1951  Terry Sawchuk, Detroit  Al Rollins, Toronto 
1950  Jack Gelineau, Boston  Phil Maloney, Boston 
1949  Pentti Lund, New York  Allan Stanley, New York 
1948  Jim McFadden, Detroit  Pete Babando, Boston 
1947  Howie Meeker, Toronto  Jimmy Conacher, Detroit 
1946  Edgar Laprade, New York  George Gee, Chicago 
1945  Frank McCool, Toronto  Ken Smith, Boston 
1944  Gus Bodnar, Toronto  Bill Durnan, Montreal 
1943  Gaye Stewart, Toronto  Glen Harmon, Montreal 
1942  Grant Warwick, New York  Buddy O'Connor, Montreal 
1941  Johnny Quilty, Montreal  Johnny Mowers, Detroit 
1940  Kilby MacDonald, NY Rangers  Wally Stanowski, Toronto 
1939  Frank Brimsek, Boston  Roy Conacher, Boston 
1938  Cully Dahlstrom, Chicago  Murph Chamberlain, Toronto 
1937  Syl Apps, Toronto  Gordie Drillon, Toronto 
1936  Mike Karakas, Chicago  Bucko McDonald, Detroit 
1935  Dave Schriner, NY Americans  Bert Connolly, NY Rangers 
1934  Russ Blinko, Mtl Maroons    
1933  Carl Voss, Detroit    

CNNSI Copyright © 2001
CNN/Sports Illustrated
An AOL Time Warner Company.
All Rights Reserved.

Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.