Shop Fantasy Central Golf Guide Email Travel Subscribe SI About Us Hockey Almanac Fantasy Minors College Juniors


 Sportsman of the Year
 Heisman Trophy
 Swimsuit 2001

 Fantasy Central
 Inside Game
 Video Plus
 Your Turn
 Message Boards
 Email Newsletters
 Golf Guide
 Cities GROUP
 Sports Illustrated
 Life of Reilly
 SI Women
 SI for Kids
 Press Room
 TBS/TNT Sports
 CNN Languages

 SI Customer Service
 SI Media Kits
 Get into College
 Sports Memorabilia

Updated: Thursday June 14, 2001 11:37 PM

Frank J. Selke Trophy
Awarded annually to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. The trophy is named after Frank J. Selke, the architect of the Montreal Canadians dynasty that won five consecutive Stanley Cups in the late '50s. The winner is selected by a vote of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.
Year  Winner  Runner-Up 
2001  John Madden, New Jersey  Modano, Dal./Sakic, Col. 
2000  Steve Yzerman, Detroit  Mike Ricci, San Jose 
1999  Jere Lehtinen, Dallas  Magnus Arvedson, Ottawa 
1998  Jere Lehtinen, Dallas  Michael Peca, Buffalo 
1997  Michael Peca, Buffalo  Peter Forsberg, Colorado 
1996  Sergei Fedorov, Detroit  Ron Francis, Pittsburgh  
1995  Ron Francis, Pittsburgh  Esa Tikkanen, St. Louis 
1994  Sergei Fedorov, Detroit  Doug Gilmour, Toronto 
1993  Doug Gilmour, Toronto  Dave Poulin, Boston 
1992  Guy Carbonneau, Montreal  Sergei Fedorov, Detroit 
1991  Dirk Graham, Chicago  Esa Tikkanen, Edmonton 
1990  Rick Meagher, St. Louis  Guy Carbonneau, Montreal 
1989  Guy Carbonneau, Montreal  Esa Tikkanen, Edmonton 
1988  Guy Carbonneau, Montreal  Steve Kasper, Boston 
1987  Dave Poulin, Philadelphia  Guy Carbonneau, Montreal  
1986  Troy Murray, Chicago  Ron Sutter, Philadelphia 
1985  Craig Ramsay, Buffalo  Doug Jarvis, Washington 
1984  Doug Jarvis, Washington  Bryan Trottier, NY Islanders 
1983  Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia  Jari Kurri, Edmonton 
1982  Steve Kasper, Boston  Bob Gainey, Montreal 
1981  Bob Gainey, Montreal  Craig Ramsay, Buffalo 
1980  Bob Gainey, Montreal  Craig Ramsay, Buffalo 
1979  Bob Gainey, Montreal  Don Marcotte, Boston 
1978  Bob Gainey, Montreal  Craig Ramsay, Buffalo 

CNNSI Copyright © 2001
CNN/Sports Illustrated
An AOL Time Warner Company.
All Rights Reserved.

Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.