Ad Info
NHL Finals
  Main Page
Other NHL News
Eastern Conference Recap
Western Conference Recap
Schedule & results
Sights & Sounds
Red Wings - Capitals Recap
Playoff Stats
Playoff Histories
Stanley Cup Champions
Conn Smythe Trophy winners
3D Stadium

Message Boards

It's Cup time in the Motor City!
The Red Wings came to do two things win the Cup and chew bubble gum...well I guess they are all out of bubble gum!!!
    -- fayta9
Hockey Message Boards!

Stanley Cup 4-0 Sweeps

Click here for more on this story

Posted: Tuesday June 16, 1998 11:12 PM

Stanley Cup winners that have swept the final series since the inception of the best-of-seven format in 1939:

1940-41 -- Boston Bruins def. Detroit Red Wings

1942-43 -- Detroit Red Wings def. Boston Bruins

1943-44 -- Montreal Canadiens def. Chicago Blackhawks

1947-48 -- Toronto Maple Leafs def. Detroit Red Wings

1948-49 -- Toronto Maple Leafs def. Detroit Red Wings

1951-52 -- Detroit Red Wings def. Montreal Canadiens

1959-60 -- Montreal Canadiens def. Toronto Maple Leafs

1967-68 -- Montreal Canadiens def. St. Louis Blues

1968-69 -- Montreal Canadiens def. St. Louis Blues

1969-70 -- Boston Bruins def. St. Louis Blues

1975-76 -- Montreal Canadiens def. Philadelphia Flyers

1976-77 -- Montreal Canadiens def. Boston Bruins

1981-82 -- New York Islanders def. Vancouver Canucks

1982-83 -- New York Islanders def. Edmonton Oilers

1987-88 -- Edmonton Oilers def. Boston Bruins

1991-92 -- Pittsburgh Penguins def. Chicago Blackhawks

1994-95 -- New Jersey Devils def. Detroit Red Wings

1995-96 -- Colorado Avalanche def. Florida Panthers

1996-97 -- Detroit Red Wings def. Philadelphia Flyers

1997-98 -- Detroit Red Wings def. Washington Capitals

Copyright 2003 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

To the top

Copyright © 1999 CNN/SI. A Time Warner Company.
All Rights Reserved.

Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.