Alex Sanabia : I didn't know spitter was against rules
Cameras caught Sanabia spitting on the ball after the Phillies' Domonic Brown homered off him during the second inning of Monday's game in Miami. He said Friday before the Marlins' game against the Chicago White Sox he hasn't been contacted by Major League Baseball about what he did.
He says he did it to get a better grip on the ball, and not to get more movement on his pitches.
Sanabia says that was the first time he spit on the ball, and that he did it because the ball was "super slick."
Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.