NASCAR Formula One Other Circuits Motor Sports Motor Sports

Barrichello wins disrupted British GP

Posted: Sunday July 20, 2003 9:46 AM
Updated: Sunday July 20, 2003 1:09 PM

Pos.  Driver  Team 
1.  Rubens Barrichello  Ferrari  
2.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Williams-BMW 
3.  Kimi Raikkonen  McLaren-Mercedes  
4.  Michael Schumacher  Ferrari  
5.  David Coulthard  McLaren-Mercedes 
  • For complete results, click here.

    SILVERSTONE, England (Reuters) -- A death-defying track invasion by a kilted protestor overshadowed Rubens Barrichello's first win of the year for Ferrari at the British Grand Prix on Sunday.

    The Brazilian beat Colombian Juan Pablo Montoya's Williams in a thrilling and chaotic race that tightened up the title battle and plunged the embattled Silverstone circuit owners deeper into trouble.

    Finland's Kimi Raikkonen was third for McLaren ahead of Ferrari's championship leader Michael Schumacher in fourth place.

    Five times champion Schumacher's overall lead over Raikkonen has been trimmed to seven points from eight with five races remaining. Ralf Schumacher, winner of the last two races for Williams, finished ninth.

    The race was thrown into confusion on lap 12 when the protestor -- seemingly dressed as former world champion Jackie Stewart -- appeared on the track, trotting down the middle of Hangar Straight as cars roared past at about 200 kph (about 125 mph). (Full Story)

    In the confusion, there was a mass of hurried pitstops and Toyota's Brazilian rookie Cristiano da Matta found himself leading a grand prix for the first time with French teammate Olivier Panis in third place.

    Briton David Coulthard was fifth for McLaren, ahead of Italian Jarno Trulli for Renault. Brazilian Cristiano Da Matta was seventh for Toyota and Briton Jenson Button took the final point for BAR.

    British GP Results
    At Silverstone circuit
    Pos.  Driver  Country  Team  Behind 
    1.  Rubens Barrichello  Brazil  Ferrari  ---- 
    2.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Colombia  Williams-BMW  5.462 
    3.  Kimi Raikkonen  Finland  McLaren-Mercedes  10.656 
    4.  Michael Schumacher  Germany  Ferrari  25.648 
    5.  David Coulthard  Britain  McLaren-Mercedes  36.827 
    6.  Jarno Trulli  Italy  Renault  43.067 
    7.  Cristiano Da Matta  Brazil  Toyota  45.085 
    8.  Jenson Button  Britain  BAR-Honda  45.478 
    9.  Ralf Schumacher  Germany  Williams-BMW  58.032 
    10.  Jacques Villeneuve  Canada  BAR-Honda  63.569 
    11.  Olivier Panis  France  Toyota  65.207 
    12.  Heinz-Harald Frentzen  Germany  Sauber-Petronas  65.564 
    13.  Ralph Firman  Ireland  Jordan-ford  one lap 
    14.  Mark Webber  Australia  Jaguar  one lap 
    15.  Jos Verstappen  Netherlands  Minardi-Cosworth  two laps 
    16.  Justin Wilson  Britain  Minardi-cosworth  two laps 
    17.  Nick Heidfeld  Germany  Sauber-Petronas  two laps 
    Not Classified
    Pos.  Driver  Country  Team  Laps 
    18.  Fernando Alonso  Spain  Renault  52 
    19.  Giancarlo Fisichella  Italy  Jordan-Ford  44 
    20.  Antonio Pizzonia  Brazil  Jaguar  32 

    Related information
    Barrichello takes pole position for British Grand Prix
    Kilted demonstrator disrupts British Grand Prix
    Visit Video Plus for the latest audio and video

    Copyright 2003 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved.