NASCAR Formula One Other Circuits Motor Sports Motor Sports

Williams Fact Box
Team Information 
Based:  Grove, England 
Team principal:  Frank Williams 
Technical director:  Patrick Head 
Chief designer:  Gavin Fisher 
Drivers:   Ralf Schumacher (Germany) 27 (June 30, 1975) 
   Juan Pablo Montoya (Colombia) 27 (September 20, 1975) 
Test Driver:  Marc Gene (Spain) 28 (March 29 1974) 
Car:   Williams FW25, powered by BMW P83 V10 engine. 
Tires:  Michelin 
Grands Prix:  454 (108 Wins, 119 Poles) 
Constructors' Titles:  Nine (1980, 1981, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997). 
Drivers' Titles:  Seven -- 1980, Alan Jones (Australia). 1982, Keke Rosberg (Finland). 1987, Nelson Piquet (Brazil). 1992, Nigel Mansell (Britain). 1993, Alain Prost (France). 1996, Damon Hill (Britain). 1997, Jacques Villeneuve (Canada). 
Formula One Debut:  Argentina 1978 
First Win:  Silverstone, Britain 1979, Clay Regazzoni (Switzerland) 
2002 Finish:  Second 
1977  Williams Grand Prix engineering formed. 
1979  Regazzoni wins at Silverstone for first Williams victory after Jones had retired while in the lead. 
1980  Jones wins title, Williams are constructors' champions. 
1983  Williams links up with Honda. 
1986  Frank Williams suffers accident that leaves him confined to wheelchair after his car overturns leaving preseason testing at Paul Ricard circuit. 
1988  Williams use Judd engines. 
1989  Renault arrive as engine partners. 
1992  Mansell wins first five races and becomes first driver to win nine races in one season and be on the pole 14 times. 
1994  Ayrton Senna dies in a Williams at Imola. 
1997  Williams chalks up 100th win, at Silverstone. Secures a then-record ninth constructors' championship. Renault quits direct involvement in Formula One. 
2000  BMW returns to F1 as engine suppliers. 
2001  Race winners again after three-year drought. 
2002  Runners-up to Ferrari. 
  • Hopes to challenge Ferrari for the title with a new and more adventurous car than last year. Colombian Juan Pablo Montoya will be looking to win races after drawing a blank in 2002.
  • The BMW engine is likely to be the most powerful on the grid again but the teamís hopes will depend on how big a leap Ferrari has made with its new F2003-GA and how many surprises the new one-lap qualifying system throws up.
  • "Unless something suddenly goes wrong at Ferrari, it's unlikely that Williams will be world champions in 2003," says BMW's Austrian motorsport director Gerhard Berger.  
  • Copyright 2003 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved.