Home SI Photos

Notable Calder Trophy Winners

Bobby Orr
Text: Suzanne Grassel,
Photo: Tony Triolo/SI

Bobby Orr

Boston Bruins, 1966-67

During its 77-year history, the NHL's Rookie of the Year award has been like the proverbial box of chocolates: you never know what you're going to get in the future. The list of winners includes many all-time greats as well as busts and obscurities. Here are 10 notables, for better or worse.

Credited with revolutionizing his position, Orr scored 13 goals and 41 points as a rookie. He went on to shatter the 100-point barrier with 120 in 1969-79, the first of his six successive 100-plus seasons -- unheard of for a blueliner -- and win two scoring titles, but he was also a consummate defenseman. Orr won the Norris Trophy for eight consecutive years, and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1979.

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: Sammy Watkins NFL Draft Rick Adelman NFL Questions Aaron Hernandez Donald Trump
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint