Home SI Photos

Milestone Stanley Cups

Photo: Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images

New York Rangers, 1928

The Stanley Cup was first presented in 1893 as the championship trophy of Canadian hockey. After the formation of the NHL for the 1917-18 season, the Toronto Arenas became the league's first winner of what is now the most famous trophy in sports. The 1927-28 Rangers were the NHL's first U.S.-based team to win it, downing the Maroons three games to two in a series played entirely in Montreal. Of note was the Rangers' 44-year-old coach, Lester Patrick, coming off the bench in Game 2 to replace the injured Lorne Chabot in goal.

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: NBA Playoffs NHL Playoffs Golden State Warriors Bryce Harper Paul Pierce Masai Ujiri
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint