Tour de France Grand Champions

7. Lance Armstrong (1999-2005)
Text: Nick Zaccardi
Photo: AP

7. Lance Armstrong (1999-2005)

Armstrong competed in the Tour four times in the early-to-mid 1990s, completing it just once (1995 - 36th). After beating cancer, Armstrong started beating cyclists, too. He won seven straight Tours, two more total than anybody else, with his closest win coming in 2003 when he beat rival Jan Ullrich by 1 minute, 1 second. Armstrong dominated in the doping era. Of the eight other riders who joined him on Paris podium, seven have been linked to doping allegations. And, of course, so has Lance, who has steadfastly denied them and passed tests time and again.

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: NBA Playoffs NHL Playoffs NFL schedule LaMarcus Aldridge Michael Pineda Phil Jackson Tiger Woods
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint