Tour de France Grand Champions

3. Greg LeMond (1986, 89-90)
Text: Nick Zaccardi
Photo: AP

3. Greg LeMond (1986, 89-90)

LeMond was the first American to win the Tour in 1986, leading to two decades of strong U.S. showings. The LeMondster unseated teammate Bernard Hinault as the alpha male of the peloton in 1986. He missed the next two Tours after a turkey-hunting accident in which his brother-in-law shot him with a shotgun. He came back to surpass Laurent Fignon on the final stage in 1989, erasing a 50-second deficit, and similarly beat a 5-second deficit in the final time trial in 1990.

Related Galleries

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: Sammy Watkins NFL Draft Rick Adelman NFL Questions Aaron Hernandez Donald Trump
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint