MLS MVP Winners

Dwayne De Rosario (2011)
Photo: Andy Mead/Icon SMI/Bret Hartman/AP

Dwayne De Rosario (2011)

D.C. United midfielder

De Rosario was traded twice during the season, but his fourth months of play for D.C. United, which didn't make the playoffs, was stellar enough to win his first MVP. The Canadian began the year with Toronto FC, was dealt to the Red Bulls on April 1 and then ultimately to D.C. on June 27. Combined, he scored 16 goals (tied for first in MLS) with 12 assists (fourth).

Other finalists: Brad Davis, Brek Shea

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: NBA Playoffs NHL Playoffs NFL schedule LaMarcus Aldridge Michael Pineda Phil Jackson Tiger Woods
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint