Home SI Photos

Best NHL Playoff Records

1992 Pittsburgh Penguins (16-5)
Photo: Bruce Bennett/Bruce Bennett Studios/Getty Images

1992 Pittsburgh Penguins (16-5)

Mario Lemieux, Jaromir Jagr and the Penguins won their second successive Cup by making quick work of the Blackhawks, who came into the final riding a record 11 consecutive playoff wins. With their sweep, the Pens matched the mark, which goalie Tom Barrasso also shared with Chicago netminder Ed Belfour, as Lemieux became the second player in NHL history to win back-to-back Smythe trophies. (Flyers goalie Bernie Parent, in 1974 and '75, was the first.)

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: NBA Draft Yasiel Puig NHL Playoffs NBA Playoffs Mark Cuban Jabari Parker
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines, your California privacy rights, and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint