Stanley Cup Finalist Hangovers

Facebook Share
Text: Eli Bernstein
Photo: Andy Marlin/NHLI via Getty Images

2013 Devils

Repeating as Stanley Cup champion may be hard, but just getting back to the final round can be a monumental task. Since the last repeat Cup champion in 1997-98, only four teams have made return trips to the final, and only one of them -- the 2008-09 Penguins -- lost the first time and won in its second trip. Here are the fates of the other finalists the year after:

After losing the Stanley Cup to the Kings in 2012, the Devils' follow-up season was a textbook fall from grace. Captain and star Zach Parise decamped to Minnesota over the summer, and the truncated season saw New Jersey plummet in the standings as the team struggled to score. Martin Brodeur looked like the years had finally caught up with him in net, while underachieving performances from Ilya Kovalchuk -- who would leave for Russia after the campaign -- and Adam Henrique helped doom the Devils to a last-places finish in the Atlantic division.

RELATED GALLERY: Cup champs the year after

More Galleries

Most Recent: Most Popular: Related:
Facebook Twitter Mobile Podcast RSS Tablet Subscribe Get SI to Go using the following services
Hot Topics: NBA Playoffs NHL Playoffs Golden State Warriors Bryce Harper Paul Pierce Masai Ujiri
TM & © 2014 Time Inc. A Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved. Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines and ad choices.
SI CoverRead All ArticlesBuy Cover Reprint