Shop Fantasy Travel Free e-mail About Us Statitudes


CNN/SI Home Statitudes Front Archive Fantasy Baseball Pro Footballs College Football Pro Basketball College Basketball Hockey Golf Soccer Tennis Motor Sports Women's Sports

 Sportsman of the Year
 Heisman Trophy
 Swimsuit 2001

 Fantasy Central
 Inside Game
 Video Plus
 Your Turn
 Message Boards
 Email Newsletters
 Golf Guide
 Cities GROUP
 Sports Illustrated
 Life of Reilly
 SI Women
 SI for Kids
 Press Room
 TBS/TNT Sports
 CNN Languages

 SI Customer Service
 SI Media Kits
 Get into College
 Sports Memorabilia

Posted: Monday March 12, 2001 3:21 AM
Updated: Tuesday March 13, 2001 5:39 PM

0 -- NCAA tournament victories by teams from the Big South Conference in nine games. This year's representative, Winthrop, has a chance for victory No. 1 when it plays Northwestern State in the play-in game Tuesday night. Kenny Gregory
Kenny Gregory and the Jayhawks know how to put first-round opponents behind them.
.533 -- The lowest winning percentage for an at-large team in NCAA tournament history -- 2001 Georgia and '91 Villanova (both 16-14). Five teams since '85 have received at-large bids despite 14 losses, with the others being Villanova ('90), Kansas State ('90) and LSU ('87).
1 -- Teams in the South Region without at least 20 victories -- Penn State (19-11).
2 -- Former Tulsa coaches to win a national title -- Nolan Richardson (Arkansas) and Tubby Smith (Kentucky). Illinois' Bill Self can be the third.
3 -- Coaches who have taken four different schools to the NCAA tournament: Eddie Sutton (Creighton, Arkansas, Kentucky, Oklahoma State); Lefty Driesell (Davidson, Maryland, James Madison, Georgia State); Jim Harrick (Pepperdine, UCLA, Rhode Island, Georgia).
4 -- Times the Big Ten has tied the record for most teams in the tournament with seven -- 1990, '94, '99 and 2001. The only other conference to accomplish the feat was the Big East in '91.
5 -- Schools making their first NCAA tournament appearance: Alabama State, Cal State-Northridge, Hampton, Northwestern State and Southern Utah.
6 -- ACC teams in this year's tournament, equaling the combined total of the past two seasons.
7 -- National champions who have earned No. 1 seeds the following season, including defending champion Michigan State. The other schools are Georgetown (1985), UNLV ('91), Duke ('92), North Carolina ('94), Kentucky ('97) and Arizona ('98).
8 -- Teams in the first NCAA tournament in 1939. The field expanded to 16 in 1951.
11 -- The lowest seed to advance to the Final Four -- LSU in 1986.
17 -- Consecutive opening-round games won by Kansas -- the nation's longest active streak -- dating back to 1978.
18 -- Length of Hofstra's winning streak, the longest of any team heading into the NCAA tournament this year.
22 -- Consecutive seasons the national champion had at least one alumnus of the McDonald's High School All-America Game.
29 -- At-large bids (out of 34) that went to the six major conferences (ACC, Big East, SEC, Pac-10, Big Ten and Big 12), four more than ever before.
35 -- Players who have played in the Final Four and Summer Olympics in the same year. The most recent is Wisconsin's Kirk Penney, who suited up for New Zealand last summer after the Badgers made the Final Four. The last U.S. player to accomplish the feat was Duke's Christian Laettner in 1992.
49 -- Oklahoma State's RPI rating, the lowest of the 34 at-large bids.
50 -- NCAA tournament wins by Duke's Mike Krzyzewski, the most among active coaches. Dean Smith holds the record with 65. Michigan State's Tom Izzo has the highest winning percentage for an active coach (12-2, .857; minimum 10 games).
61 -- Record for most points by a player in an NCAA tournament game, set by Notre Dame's Austin Carr against Ohio in the first round of 1970.
157 -- Number of teams that have entered the tournament with two or fewer losses, including Stanford (26-2) this year. Twenty-nine of those schools won the title.
184 -- Record for most points by a player in an NCAA tournament, set by Michigan's Glen Rice (six games) in 1989.
1990 -- The last time Notre Dame made the NCAA tournament. The Irish have not won a tournament game since an 81-65 defeat of Vanderbilt in the opening round in 1989.
1991 -- The only previous year that Georgia, Georgia Tech and Georgia State all made the tournament.
17,950,000 -- Homes that tuned into the 1979 final between Michigan State and Indiana State, making it the highest rated (24.1) tournament game in history.

CNNSI Copyright © 2001
CNN/Sports Illustrated
An AOL Time Warner Company.
All Rights Reserved.

Terms under which this service is provided to you.
Read our privacy guidelines.