Australian Open
Australian Open

Shop Fantasy Central Golf Guide Free e-mail Travel Subscribe SI About Us
 World Sports
Australian Open
Other Tennis News
Archived Results
Player Profiles
Photo Gallery
Week One

 Sportsman of the Year
 Heisman Trophy
 Swimsuit 2001

 Fantasy Central
 Inside Game
 Video Plus
 Your Turn
 Message Boards
 Email Newsletters
 Golf Guide
 Cities GROUP
 Sports Illustrated
 Life of Reilly
 SI Women
 SI for Kids
 Press Room
 TBS/TNT Sports
 CNN Languages

 SI Customer Service
 SI Media Kits
 Get into College
 Sports Memorabilia


Australian Open Singles Champions
Year  Men  Women 
2000  Andre Agassi  Lindsay Davenport  
1999  Yevgeny Kafelnikov  Martina Hingis  
1998  Petr Korda  Martina Hingis  
1997  Pete Sampras  Martina Hingis 
1996  Boris Becker  Monica Seles 
1995  Andre Agassi  Mary Pierce 
1994  Pete Sampras  Steffi Graf 
1993  Jim Courier  Monica Seles 
1992  Jim Courier  Monica Seles 
1991  Boris Becker  Monica Seles 
1990  Ivan Lendl  Steffi Graf 
1989  Ivan Lendl  Steffi Graf 
1988  Mats Wilander  Steffi Graf 
1987  Stefan Edberg  Hana Mandlikova 
1986  No tournament  No tournament 
1985  Stefan Edberg  Martina Navratilova 
1984  Mats Wilander  Chris Evert Lloyd 
1983  Mats Wilander  Martina Navratilova 
1982  Johan Kriek  Chris Evert Lloyd 
1981  Johan Kriek  Martina Navratilova 
1980  Brian Teacher  Hana Mandlikova 
1979  Guillermo Vilas  Barbara Jordan 
1978  Guillermo Vilas  Chris O'Neil 
1977 (Dec.)  Vitas Gerulaitis  Evonne Goolagong Cawley 
1977 (Jan.)  Roscoe Tanner  Kerry Reid 
1976  Mark Edmondson  Evonne Goolagong Cawley 
1975  John Newcombe  Evonne Goolagong 
1974  Jimmy Connors  Evonne Goolagong 
1973  John Newcombe  Margaret Smith Court 
1972  Ken Rosewall  Virginia Wade 
1971  Ken Rosewall  Margaret Smith Court 
1970  Arthur Ashe  Margaret Smith Court 
1969  Rod Laver  Margaret Smith Court 
1968  Bill Bowrey  Billie Jean King 
1967  Roy Emerson  Nancy Richey 
1966  Roy Emerson  Margaret Smith 
1965  Roy Emerson  Margaret Smith 
1964  Roy Emerson  Margaret Smith 
1963  Roy Emerson  Margaret Smith 
1962  Rod Laver  Margaret Smith 
1961  Roy Emerson  Margaret Smith 
1960  Rod Laver  Margaret Smith 
1959  Alex Olmedo  Mary Carter-Reitano 
1958  Ashley Cooper  Angela Mortimer 
1957  Ashley Cooper  Shirley Fry 
1956  Lew Hoad  Mary Carter 
1955  Ken Rosewall  Beryl Penrose 
1954  Mervyn Rose  Thelma Long 
1953  Ken Rosewall  Maureen Connolly 
1952  Ken McGregor  Thelma Long 
1951  Dick Savitt  Nancye Wynne Bolton 
1950  Frank Sedgman  Louise Brough 
1949  Frank Sedgman  Doris Hart 
1948  Adrian Quist  Nancye Wynne Bolton 
1947  Dinny Pails  Nancye Wynne Bolton 
1946  John Bromwich  Nancye Wynne Bolton 
1945  No tournament    
1944  No tournament    
1943  No tournament    
1942  No tournament    
1941  No tournament    
1940  Adrian Quist  Nancye Wynne Bolton 
1939  John Bromwich  Emily Westacott 
1938  Don Budge  Dorothy Bundy 
1937  Vivian McGrath  Nancye Wynne 
1936  Adrian Quist  Joan Hartigan 
1935  Jack Crawford  Dorothy Round 
1934  Fred Perry  Joan Hartigan 
1933  Jack Crawford  Joan Hartigan 
1932  Jack Crawford  Coral Buttsworth 
1931  Jack Crawford  Coral Buttsworth 
1930  Gar Moon  Daphne Akhurst 
1929  John Gregory  Daphne Akhurst 
1928  Jean Borotra  Daphne Akhurst 
1927  Gerald Patterson  Esna Boyd 
1926  John Hawkes  Daphne Akhurst 
1925  James Anderson  Daphne Akhurst 
1924  James Anderson  Sylvia Lance 
1923  Pat O'Hara Wood  Margaret Molesworth 
1922  Pat O'Hara Wood  Margaret Molesworth 
1921  Rhys Gemmell    
1920  Pat O'Hara Wood    
1919  A.R.F. Kingscote    
1918  No tournament    
1917  No tournament    
1916  No tournament    
1915  Francis Lowe    
1914  Pat O'Hara Wood    
1913  E.F. Parker    
1912  Cecil Parke    
1911  Norman Brookes    
1910  Rodney Heath    
1909  Tony Wilding    
1908  Fred Alexander    
1907  Horace Rice    
1906  Tony Wilding    
1905  Rodney Heath    


CNNSI   Copyright © 2001 CNN/Sports Illustrated. An AOL Time Warner Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms under which this service is provided to you. Read our privacy guidelines.