THE WALL (CONT.): IN PROSE AND POETRY
We have a question concerning a rule interpretation in the magnificent Los Angeles Coliseum.
Say the Phillies are at bat and the Smogville nine is in the field. Runners are on first and second with none out, and Ted Kazanski comes to bat. He hits a high pop-up within easy range of the shortstop, and the umpire immediately calls: "Batter out! Infield fly rule!" But, lo, the ball falls on the other side of the screen, just out of the shortstop's reach. Wha' happens?
ALBION L. PAYSON
PETER D. RELIC
•The ball is ruled walteromalley, the runners advance one base and the batter gets his nickel back.—ED.
REDUCTIO AD ABSURDUM
This is the screen that O'Malley built.
This is the ball that looped over the screen.
This is the bat that propelled the ball.
This is the little boy that swung the bat.
This is the absurd thing: that a little boy could have swung that bat.
THE REV. CONRAD DIEKMANN, O.S.B.
I can only say that many of your readers, including myself, are tired of reading your complaints regarding the Los Angeles Coliseum. I suppose that I should realize you Eastern diehards spoke similarly about professional football. I guess you are entitled to a mistake once in a while.
The thing that really got my goat in Mr. Terrell's article of May 5 was his statement: "Los Angeles is often considered part of the civilized world." Tell me one thing please: Where do you dig those smart fellers up?
MARK DU BOURDIEU
Long Beach, Calif.
•Roy Terrell, only partially civilized by his own estimate, was born in Kingsville, Texas (home of the King Ranch), educated at Texas College of Arts and Industries and the University of Texas (slightly more civilized) and before joining SPORTS ILLUSTRATED worked for six years as a newspaperman in Corpus Christi, a booming Gulf Coast industrial and resort city fast attaining a veneer of civilization which has not yet completely obscured its cattle origins. "Thank heavens," says Terrell.—ED.
BASEBALL: THEORY AND PRACTICE
I want to congratulate Walter Bingham and Richie Ashburn for collaborating on a very interesting and fine article (Big League Secrets, May 19). Richie Ashburn in his article on base running stated that he always tags up whether he is on first, second or third base, hoping for an overthrow from the outfield. In a subsequent Phillie-Pirate double-header, in the first inning of the second game, Ashburn led off with a single. When the next batter hit a routine fly to center, Ashburn faked a tag and Virdon whipped the ball over the second baseman's head, allowing Ashburn to make second. He went on to score on the next batter's single. After this, the pitcher seemed rattled and bothered by Ashburn's tactics. The Phillies knocked out the starting pitcher in the third inning and won by a good margin. Ashburn also made some thrilling catches to aid the Phillies.
This should convince some of the readers of your magazine who don't get to see major league baseball that Ashburn, not a power hitter nor gifted with a great arm, is one of the best, if not the best, center-fielders in the major leagues!
Bala Cynwyd, Pa.