SI Vault
December 03, 2001
Heisman Hopefuls
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font
December 03, 2001

Trivial Matters

Heisman Hopefuls

View CoverRead All Articles


The Heisman Trophy was originally called the Downtown Athletic Club Trophy. It was renamed in 1936 to honor John Heisman, the club's first athletic director. Heisman coached football from 1892 to 1927 at eight colleges and was on the winning end of the most lopsided game in college football history, Georgia Tech's 222-0 drubbing of Cumberland in 1916. At which of the following schools did Heisman not coach?

a. Akron
b. Army
c. Penn
d. Rice

The trophy has been awarded 66 times, to players from 36 colleges. Notre Dame has had the most winners (seven), while Ohio State ranks second (six). What's the only school that has produced a winner but now doesn't have a Division I football program?


Pair the Heisman Trophy runner-up in the left column with the player who beat him out for the award that year.

1. Herschel Walker
2. Billy Sims
3. Steve Young
4. John Elway

a. Herschel Walker
b. Marcus Allen
c. Mike Rozier
d. Charles White


Place these Heisman winners in order of career games played in the NFL.

Continue Story
1 2