SI Vault
February 05, 1962
A Millrose Games quiz to excite the memory and increase the knowledge of fans and armchair experts
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font
February 05, 1962

Point Of Fact

A Millrose Games quiz to excite the memory and increase the knowledge of fans and armchair experts

View CoverRead All Articles View This Issue

? What are the Millrose Gaines?

?Sponsored by the Millrose Athletic Association of John Wanamaker, the Millrose Games is the biggest, most popular and certainly the most famous indoor track meet in the country. This year (Feb. 2) will mark the 55th annual running of the meet, which traditionally opens the indoor track season in New York's Madison Square Garden.

? The outstanding performer in the Millrose Games is voted the Rodman Wanamaker Award. Has any athlete received the award more than once since its inception in 1925?

?Yes, four men have won it two times, each in successive years. Middle-distance Runner Charles Hornbostel was the award winner in 1934 and 1935, with Miler Glenn Cunningham second in the voting both times. Hornbostel won the 1,000-yard run in 1934, and in 1935 not only repeated his 1,000 win but an hour or so later set an indoor world record for the 600-yard run. Miler Gil Dodds won the award in 1947 and 1948 (when he set an indoor world record). In 1950 and 1951 Pole Vaulter Bob Richards finished ahead of Miler Don Gehrmann in the award voting. Gehrmann, incidentally, was second in the voting four straight years (1949 through 1952). John Thomas high-jumped to new indoor records in both 1959 (7 feet) and 1960 (7 feet 1� inches) to win the award.

? Has a woman track and field athlete ever won the Wanamaker Award?

?Only Stella Walsh, who won the women's 50-yard dash in 1930. She finished ahead of Monte Wells (new indoor record for the 60-yard high hurdles) in the voting.

? Ron Delany won the Wanamaker Mile four straight years (1956-59). Has any miler won the event more times?

?Don Gehrmann also won four consecutive Wanamaker Miles (1949-52). But the most mile victories were achieved by Glenn Cunningham. He won three straight years (1933-35), finished second in 1936 in a blanket finish and then won three more miles in a row (1937-39).

? Did Paavo Nurmi ever win the Wanamaker Mile?

? Nurmi competed only once in the Wanamaker Mile (1929). He was running, as he usually did, in the lead but racing only against the watch he held in his hand. Suddenly, on the last turn, Ray Conger caught him and sprinted past to win in 4:17.4. Nurmi finished a disappointing second.

Continue Story
1 2