Under FOR THE RECORD in the Sept. 2 issue of your fine publication, your paragraph on boating contained an error that will make every catamaran sailor in the world see red. The error looms large for it is the same one made by many race committees throughout the U.S. You referred to co-skippers Jim Holcombe and Chick (real name is Chris) Mathews winning the national catamaran title. What they actually won was the national title in the Cougar Mark III class.
Primary reason for bringing this to your attention is the fact that there are a number of different catamaran classes racing throughout the world today. But many race committees lump them all together in one class no matter how many are entered in a regatta. For instance, they will fire starting guns for Stars, Snipes, Lightnings, Comets, etc.—and catamarans, even though there may be a number of different classes racing in this multihull category. Catamarans are as different from one another as monohull classes, but many usually well-informed race committees are taking overly long to realize this.
WILLIAM A. KING
Inexcusably, in your article on Dick Stuart (Best Show Around Boston, Sept. 2), you omit mentioning one of his classics—neither a homer nor an error, just style. Coming to the plate in the ninth inning, bases loaded, two out and the Red Sox behind the White Sox by two runs—a perfect Stuart strikeout situation—Dick had the second-base umpire move to the left. His single, tying the game, passed precisely where the umpire had been standing.