Partner should bid four no trump for takeout, so his double is strictly for penalties. Although five diamonds might make, it gets a low award because it is chancy and because it is bad for partnership morale. Four no trump might achieve a good result if partner reads it for takeout, or even if he passes and you are able to collect 10 tricks at no trump.
A preemptive bid describes a hand in which the strength is largely concentrated in a long suit; it is wrong to preempt when you hold two aces outside that suit. Besides, you can pass with the virtual certainty that this deal will not be thrown in. However, since your hand, counting distribution, can really qualify as an opening one-spade bid, that call is permissible, too. Both preemptive actions make it impossible for partner to judge whether he should raise or, if the opponents bid, pass, double or take a sacrifice.
You are fairly certain to provide the four tricks partner needs to make game at spades, but his hand may be totally useless at no trump. Without a long, running suit of your own or cards that assure your ability to bring home his suit, it is almost always wrong to bid no trump in response to partner's major-suit preempt. Thus, an ultraconservative pass, which will at least bring in a plus score, rates higher than the no-trump bid.