? It is the bottom of the ninth of a tie game. There is one out and Team B has runners on second and third. With first open, Team A decides to intentionally walk the next batter. Just before the first pitch, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box to give the pitcher a better target. Suddenly the umpire waves the runner on third home with the winning run. What happened?
? A balk resulted when the catcher stepped out of the catcher's box before the pitch. The catcher must not step beyond his area until the pitch has been released.
? 1) What is a suicide squeeze play? 2) How does it differ from a safety squeeze?
?1) A runner on third base breaks for home on the pitcher's motion. The batter must bunt at the ball wherever it is pitched, sacrificing himself, in an attempt to squeeze the run home. 2) The safety squeeze allows for an option. The batter may take the pitch if he thinks it is out of the strike zone. The runner does not start home until he sees the batter bunt the ball on the ground.
? A batter from Team A hits out of turn and singles. After the next batter takes a pitch for a ball, the defensive team realizes the batting-order error. Does the man who baited out of turn still have a single?
? Yes. Batting out of turn is an appeal play, and the umpire acts only when informed by the defensive team. The appeal must be made before the first pitch to the next batter.
? With less than two out and runners on first and second, a batter hits an infield fly. A fielder drops the ball, and a base runner is thrown out as he tries to advance. What is the call?
? It's a double play. The batter is automatically out under the infield fly rule. The runner, who may advance on an infield fly at his own risk, is also out.
? A runner is on first base. The pitcher fakes a pickoff throw, then pitches to the batter. The umpire calls a balk, but the batter swings and gets a base hit. Does he have to go back to the plate and try again?
? No. This is a legal play. If the batter reaches first base safely, this negates the balk call.