SI Vault
100 Years
Alexander Wolff
December 02, 1991
1891After the only goal scored in the original game in Springfield, Mass., the hall must be taken out of the peach basket, whose bottom is still intact.
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font
December 02, 1991

100 Years

View CoverRead All Articles View This Issue
1 2 3 4

In a watershed event in the growth of both amateur and professional basketball, Magic Johnson's Michigan Stale Spartans defeat Larry Bird's Indiana State Sycamores 75-64 for the NCAA championship in front of the largest television audience for basketball, then or since; Johnson then joins the Lakers, who will go on to win five NBA titles in the 1980s, and Bird joins the Celtics, with whom he will become a three-time league MVP.

NBA owners elect David Stern, the league's executive vice-president, to replace Lawrence O'Brien as commissioner. Stern's tenure is marked by unprecedented growth and prosperity for the NBA and by the internationalization of the league. In 1990 he will sign a $27.5 million deal to stay on until at least '95.

In a 110-82 victory over the University of Charleston in Elkins, W.Va., 6'7" Georgeann Wells of West Virginia becomes the first woman to dunk in competition.

Spurred by the sluggish final of the 1982 ACC tournament, in which North Carolina beat Virginia 47-45 after stalling for most of the second half, the NCAA rules committee adopts a 45-second shot clock.

Spud Webb of the Atlanta Hawks, who stands just 5'7", wins the Slam-Dunk contest at the NBA All-Star Game, using his 42-inch vertical jump and two brilliant dunks that draw perfect scores of 50 from the judges to edge out teammate Dominique Wilkins.

Lisa Leslie, a 6'5" senior at L.A. 's Morningside High, scores 101 points in the first half of a game against South Torrance High. Plagued by fouls and injuries, the South Torrance players quit at halftime, preventing Leslie from breaking Cheryl Miller's single-game high school record of 105 points.

Averaging 31.2 points per game in the Finals, Michael Jordan leads the Chicago Bulls to their first NBA title.

1 2 3 4