SI Vault
 
PGA Tour CONFIDENTIAL
MICHAEL BAMBERGER
April 04, 2011
Can Tiger find his mojo? How about Phil? Can a Euro break through? If you could—gasp!—change one thing about Augusta National, what would it be? And who is going to win the 75th Masters?
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font
April 04, 2011

Pga Tour Confidential

Can Tiger find his mojo? How about Phil? Can a Euro break through? If you could—gasp!—change one thing about Augusta National, what would it be? And who is going to win the 75th Masters?

View CoverRead All Articles
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Shipnuck: I'll take Sarazen's double eagle. Sometimes it's good to go for the obvious.

Anonymous Pro: I'll be even more obvious then. I'd go back for the birdie putt Jack Nicklaus made at the 17th hole in 1986, which was even bigger than the birdie at 16 because it put him in the lead. Seeing any shot Jack hit on that back nine would be terrific.

Hack: You're right, but I'd like to be around the 16th tee when Jack hit that great tee shot. I can't recall if Seve had already hit into the water at 15, then Jack almost jarred that shot. That ball is in the air, and Jackie says, "Be right," and Jack tells him, "It is," as he picks up his tee.

Garrity: I'm a sucker for a bargain, so I'm taking a two-for-one deal—Arnold Palmer's chip from behind the 12th green in 1958 when his tee shot embedded. The rules official denied Arnie relief, so he played two balls from there and appealed. He made a 5 with the embedded ball and a 3 with the second after he took a drop. The committee ruled in Arnie's favor, and he won the Masters by a stroke.

Bamberger: I'd go back for Frank Stranahan's second shot in a practice round years ago that got him booted out of the tournament. The Masters had a strict rule about practicing on the course then. Frank denies it ever happened. The real issue was that he was making googly eyes at Clifford Roberts's secretary.

Van Sickle: You can see any shot and you're going to watch a practice round? Yeah, good choice. Using that logic, I'd watch Ben Crenshaw intentionally hit into the water on the last hole of the par-3 contest so he wouldn't get caught up in the par-3-winner jinx.

Bamberger: Fine, then I'll go to the 12th hole in 1947 when Claude Harmon makes a hole in one there and Hogan makes a 2. Walking off the green, Hogan says somewhat excitedly, "I think that's the first time I've ever birdied that hole! What did you make, Claude?" And Harmon calmly answered, "I had a 1, Ben."

Anonymous Pro: We have a winner.

And the Winner Is ...

Shipnuck: I'm picking Dustin Johnson. His game is coming together.

Continue Story
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12