SI Vault
March 12, 2012
Who will win Rookie of the Year?
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font
March 12, 2012

Nba Players Poll

View CoverRead All Articles

Who will win Rookie of the Year?

Kyrie Irving, Cavs PG 75%

Ricky Rubio, Timberwolves PG 15%

Derrick Williams, Timberwolves SF 1%

Enes Kanter, Jazz C 1%

Markieff Morris, Suns PF 1%


Six other players received votes: Kings PGs Jimmer Fredette and Isaiah Thomas, Knicks SG Iman Shumpert, Cavs PF Tristan Thompson, Heat PG Norris Cole and Bobcats PG Kemba Walker (1% each).... Irving leads all rookies in scoring (18.5 ppg); two of the next three on that list—Nets SG MarShon Brooks and Pistons PG Brandon Knight—received no votes.... Irving's three-point shooting ranks 10th alltime among rookies (minimum: 90 attempts); his 41-of-43 free throw shooting in February was the best in one month by a rookie since Chauncey Billups's 41-for-41 in March '98.... In a similar poll on Facebook, Rubio received 31% of the vote to Irving's 62%.

Based on 138 NBA players who responded to SI's survey